Inveis.com .cn domain scam

Posted on by admin

Today I received the following email from toby.yang@inveis.com…

[Note: If you also received this email, it's spam, my advice is to delete it!]

From toby.yang@inveis.com Wed Apr 02 07:58:16 2008
Received: from mxvip26.hichina.com ([218.106.248.76])
by peach.[host].com with esmtp (Exim 4.68)
(envelope-from <toby.yang@inveis.com>)
id 1JgwvB-0000vO-6L
for info@[host].co.uk; Wed, 02 Apr 2008 07:58:16 +0100
Received: from 125.33.195.130 (HELO WWW-49DC599EB58) (envelope-from toby.yang@inveis.com)
by mxvip26.hichina.com (quarkmail-1.2.1) with ESMTP id S4192785AbYDBG6B
for info@[host].co.uk; Wed, 2 Apr 2008 14:58:01 +0800
Date: Wed, 2 Apr 2008 15:01:52 +0800
From: “toby.yang” <toby.yang@inveis.com>
To: “info” <info@[host].co.uk>
Subject: Phurix. domain name
Message-ID: <200804021501517814410@inveis.com>
X-mailer: Foxmail 6, 10, 201, 20 [cn]
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=”=====003_Dragon171030833688_=====”
X-Spam-Status: No, score=2.1
X-Spam-Score: 21
X-Spam-Bar: ++
X-Spam-Flag: NO

Dear {tradename}.:

We are Beijing Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd which is the domain name register center in China.

We received a formal application from a company who is applying to register “{tradename}” as their domain names and Internet keyword on Apr 1st, 2008. Because this involved your company name or trade mark so we inform you in no time. If you considered these domain names and internet keyword are important to you and there was necessary to protect them by registering them first, contact us soon.

Kind

Regards,

Toby.Yang

Tel:

+86-10-82476192 (ext.612)

Fax: +86-10-62477798

Email: toby,yang@Inveis.com

Beijing

Inveis Network Information Technology Co.,Ltd

website:

www.Inveis.com

Upon closer inspection I realise they don’t specify the domain extension, I visited their website to investigate further. Their main page contains statistical information about .cn domain names, which is the ccTLD for China.

It’s a nice idea, it looks like a legit email, and it plays on trademark law, which states that you MUST defend your trademark in order to maintain it.

However, the first thing I notice as odd is the , they use in the email address, then the fact they didn’t specify the domain these people are trying to register, and I’ve never heard of them.

A quick google of “Inveis.com” finds a blog post entitled “Domains scam“.

Apparently, they will register your domain under .cn and try to sell it back to you if you respond with any concerns over your domain name.

Related posts:

  1. Focus on one domain Why you should be focusing on one domain name for...
  2. Domain Slamming Ever received one of those domain renewal notices from companies...
  3. email address on your website This is something that people don’t seem to realise, and...
  4. Transfering domains from Godaddy.com to TuCows OpenSRS I need to transfer a bunch of domains from Godaddy...
  5. 4GB Mp4 Player ebay Scam Just before Christmas, I decided I was going to get...

About admin

The author formerly known as HM2K is now the Phurix Labs administrator.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inveis.com .cn domain scam

  1. P Yehl says:

    We had received the same scam email today about our domain. Their website doesn’t even exist.

  2. jin says:

    Beijing Fridexing Technology Co., Ltd in Europe and North America to send a large number of spam, fraud cost domain name registration business, not all businesses have been deceived,

    Beijing Fridexing Technology Co., Ltd
    Tel: 086-010-61754370
    Tel/Fax: 086-010-61754370
    E-mail:info@fridexing.com

    WebSite:http://www.fridexing.com/
    http://www.fridexing.com.cn/
    http://www.fridexing.cn/

    Add:Room 102,Building No.22, YanChengYuan ,
    ChangPing District,BeiJing,China

    PostCode:102209

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>